The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) was updated in September 2012

By following the EYFS parents can be confident that their child will receive a    quality experience that supports their learning and development.

The EYFS is based around four themes and each theme is linked to an important principle, these are detailed below:

A Unique Child

Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or key person.

Enabling Environments

The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Learning and Development

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

The EYFS is also made up of seven areas of Learning and Development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design.

These areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities, to suit your child’s needs. It is a bit like a curriculum in Primary and Secondary schools, but it is suitable for very young children, and designed to be really flexible so that it can be used to follow your child’s needs and interests.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outdoors.

Personalised Folders

Every child at Hemyock Pre School has their own personalised Learning and Development folder which is kept up to date by their key worker. These plans consist of small steps/targets to work towards to help the child progress and move forward during their time with us

When your child is 2 years old

At some point before your child turns three we will give you child a written summary or how your child is progressing against the 3 prime areas of learning:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

This is known as the progress check at age 2.

The check will highlight areas where your child’s is progressing well and any where support may be needed, it might be useful to show this information to other health care professional such as a health visitor as part of there development review.